Maitland Gaol

Maitland Gaol anmeldelser, East Maitland

Maitland Gaol
4.5
09:00–16:00
Mandag
09:00 - 16:00
Tirsdag
09:00 - 16:00
Onsdag
09:00 - 16:00
Torsdag
09:00 - 16:00
Fredag
09:00 - 16:00
Lørdag
10:00 - 16:00
Søndag
10:00 - 16:00
Skriv en anmeldelse
Om
Foreslått varighet
1-2 timer
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen

De beste måtene å oppleve attraksjoner i nærheten på


4.5
246 anmeldelser
Ypperlig
139
Svært bra
89
Gjennomsnittlig
10
Dårlig
2
Forferdelig
6

Elicia
Wollongong, Australia173 bidrag
jun. 2022 • Familie
We opted for the self guided tour, which I'm sure would have been enhanced by the audio app if I could have got it to work. It was an interesting enough way to spend an hour anyway, and the staff at reception were very helpful and absolutely lovely.
Skrevet 12. juni 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Nick M
Frenchs Forest, Australia675 bidrag
apr. 2022 • Venner
We took the self guided tour, using the gaols app, and it was very informative. There are 25 recordings to listen to as you meander through the various blocks.
The place has been kept really well, and looks like maintenance is ongoing.
The recommended time to look around is between 0.5-1.5 hours; we took nearly 2.5 hours. (We wanted to take it all in. )
Definitely worth a visit.
Skrevet 9. april 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Denise N
Blue Mountains, Australia43 bidrag
nov. 2021
We only had an hour to do the self guided audio tour, but once downloaded can listen to it in more detail later. It was a most interesting experience and could easily have spent more time here. Especially of interest for me as my great-grandfather spent time in the gaol in the 1870's. Very sobering to see the small dingy cells. Very friendly entry and staff.
Skrevet 24. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Al S
Australia10 bidrag
jul. 2021
Do not bother with this tour. The tour guide was extremely unprofessional. The following points can be said. Tour guide was late and clearly indicated she did not want to be there. She had no control or direction over the group including COVID safety. Used profanity during the tour and was more absorbed and frequently promoted her private business.

Did not seem interested in any historical questions and told rather elaborate and unbelieving stories. Also told stories about other tour guides rather than actual events at the goal.

Had no control to the point that one participant had an SLR camera that she continued for two hours to take photos to the point we were continuously blinded and when a complaint was made she dismissed it as she wanted any good photos to be put on her Facebook page. It totally ruined the night.

At the end of the evening we spent at least 45 minutes watching her give readings to people we did not know. It was boring and unnecessary and obviously a plug for her business.

After this, she did not bother to do a count of people there, she wandered off with two other group participants and got some random to open the gates for us. No goodbye, nothing.

To say the least it was by far the most unprofessional, boring and worse tour we have ever been on. I would like our money back.
BTW at the beginning she had two extra people there that were not booked on the tour and said she couldn’t be bothered to check peoples tickets.
Skrevet 22. juli 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We're sorry to hear you have had such a negative experience on this tour AI S and we'd love to turn this around for you. You have also raised some serious issues we would like to further investigate internally. Can you please email simon.farrow@maitland.nsw.gov.au as so we can collect some more information and talk about getting you back on site for a positive experience.
Skrevet 11. august 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

stevenbenson87
Lake Macquarie, Australia28 bidrag
jun. 2021 • Venner
Excellent customer service highly recommended will definitely be back a must visit lots of historic places and information
Skrevet 7. juli 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Skrevet 11. juli 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

PamAlbury
Albury, Australia758 bidrag
mai 2021 • Par
We did the self-guided tour and found it incredibly interesting. We listened and followed using a downloaded app. We could have spent hours here but cut it short eventually. We enjoyed ludtenjMF to some of the stories later when we were travelling in the car. Very worthwhile.
Skrevet 10. mai 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Skrevet 17. mai 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Angie Stern-Lynch 👫
Newcastle, Australia2 926 bidrag
mar. 2021 • Venner
Fantastic tour with a great insight of the goal...
Hearing about the history and seeing the cells was a major eye opener ...
Our tour guide was fantastic had an answer for all questions group was small and totally COVID safe.
Definitely going back for the ghost tour 😀
Skrevet 16. april 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Skrevet 17. mai 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

bugger49
Umina Beach, Australia122 bidrag
mar. 2021
Very interesting to wander through and see exactly what gaols use to look like, not like todays holiday camps. Some of the ares were locked (Hospital) because of Covid. I can only imagine what it would have been like 100 years ago, not a nice place to be.
Skrevet 4. mars 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Skrevet 18. mai 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

roger t
Coffs Harbour, Australia8 bidrag
jan. 2021
Really interesting place, and so glad I can see it and be allowed to walk out at the end of the day. A tip for you... when you download the tour app it stays on your phone even after you have left the gaol, this is especially handy of you have impatient members in your group who don't want to listen to all of the narrative, ie it means you can listen to it later on your own.
Only thing I would ask to change is to be allowed up to the guards walk on the perimeter wall and to see the towers, otherwise really good. Roger
Skrevet 17. januar 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. We are working on including a Tower Experience over the next few years as part of our masterplan. Thank you for the review.
Skrevet 18. mai 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa C
Maitland, Australia134 bidrag
des. 2020 • Par
My partner and I experienced a themed night tour as part of a group of 28 adult guests. On the night, we were greeted outside the prison gates by our knowledgable and charismatic tour guide, Robyn. Once everyone had arrived, we embarked on our tour of the facility. We found the ‘Crimes of Passion’ tour and the half a dozen (or so) stories told to be very interesting. I’d recommend bringing a light jacket, wearing flats and bringing a spray jacket or poncho if it looks like rain. I’d also recommend eating prior to the 8pm tour and saving your drinks until after as the tour doesn’t bypass the facilities (located at the entry/ exit). For one reason on another, due to COVID, it’s not a torchlight tour as such as the prison floodlights are on. We’d recommend this tour to adult singles, couples and groups, and will be sure to return with friends and family in future :)
Skrevet 9. januar 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol and thank you for the helpful tips for future guided tour participants.
Skrevet 18. mai 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Viser resultatene på side 1-10 av 246
Er det noe som mangler eller er unøyaktig?
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen
Vanlige spørsmål om Maitland Gaol

Maitland Gaol er åpen:
  • Man - Fre 09:00 - 16:00
  • Lør - Søn 10:00 - 16:00