Charleston

Charleston anmeldelser, Lewes

Onsdag
10:00 - 17:00
Torsdag
10:00 - 17:00
Fredag
10:00 - 17:00
Lørdag
10:00 - 17:00
Søndag
10:00 - 17:00
Om
Foreslått varighet
2-3 timer
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen

4.5
465 anmeldelser
Ypperlig
294
Svært bra
113
Gjennomsnittlig
26
Dårlig
26
Forferdelig
8

Roman Holiday
Roma, Italia59 bidrag
jan. 2022
Always a pleasure to visit this place. Tried out the cafe in September last year and the pasta dish was very good. Dropped by today and ordered some pasta for lunch in the same cafe. £21.00 for two bowls of inedible pasta. Mine was a very unpleasant salt attack. I waded through it as I was hungry but it was terrible. As I left the building I was saying to my partner that there must be a new chef, salty mushrooms, so unpleasant and 3 people at a table outside overheard me and told me they had sent their food back as it was too salty and the reaction at the counter wasn't great.

I can see the feedback from Charleston, on this site, is to say they have had overwhelming good reviews for the food. I think they need to take another look!
Skrevet 23. januar 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

jan. 2022
I have visited Charleston many times over the last forty years. Significant changes and additions have occurred over this time. I visited last year to see the Nina Hamnet exhibition in the new Barn galleries and again this year to see the Duncan Grant exhibition and the farm house. The house can now only be visited by advanced timed entry bookings. No free flow is allowed and you have to wait in each room with a room guide. To call them room guides is really not accurate. Other than one lady of a mature age who was knowledgeable and engaging, to call them guides would be inaccurate. They were largely very young students who knew very little about the house or the Bloomsbury group. They were unable to distinguish a Duncan Grant painting from a Vanessa Bell painting. They had no idea who Maynard Keynes or David Garnett ,Roger Fry or any of the other influential members of the Bloomsbury group were. They lacked enthusiasm, knowledge or charm. They had not a clue how to engage with visitors and were more interested in going on their breaks and chatting to other room guides.
In the shop it was even worse, there were a large group of young women from the staff, sampling products and chatting loudly amongst themselves. I had to duck and dive between them. When I went to the Barn gallery there was no one in attendance. I still love Charleston but the visitor experience and staff training or lack of, is sadly disappointing. Charleston and its' collections are a National treasure. Employ staff who know about it and care about the house and what it represents in the history of 20th century British Art .I travelled over 300 miles to visit the house and exhibition.
Skrevet 23. januar 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

nov. 2021
I've wanted to visit for years and finally made it over the week-end. The house and grounds are all sublime but what made this visit probably one of the best I've experienced was the enthusiasm, knowledge and welcoming smiles of all the volunteers who could not have been more helpful. Cafe served excellent food and the shop and gallery were a delight. It was a joy. I'll definitely be back!
Skrevet 22. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Mike-Anne
London, UK42 bidrag
nov. 2021
We had a most enjoyable day at this hidden gem. The exhibition of Duncan Grant's paintings, replicating his first public exhibition in 1920 was excellent and runs until March 2022. The Gallery itself is a delight, spacious, very well lit and carefully curates. The explanatory notes were concise and relevant. Lunch In the Italian themed cafe was way better than the usual kind of offering at this kind of location and offered a really good choice of slightly unusual dishes, those we tried were delicious.
The high spot of the visit is the farmhouse. This MUST be pre-booked for a set time and is a guided tour for groups of less than six. What seemed like a 10 minute tour had, in fact taken over an hour it was so interesting and the background stories of the Bloomsbury Set fascinating. The farmhouse has been preserved just as it was in 1956. Vanelssa Bell and Duncan Grant lived there until their deaths in 1961 and 1978. There are many pictures in the house as well as a myriad of painted furniture and architectural features. Altogether a very worthwhile visit - very highly recommended.
The location is not that easy to find,a turning S off the A27 about 5 miles E of Lewes but the approach road has been re-surfaced and parking is plentiful.
Skrevet 19. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Victoria C
1 bidrag
nov. 2021 • Venner
Felt faint whilst walking round the exhibition, so I stepped outside for some air. Was told I would be allowed back in, but when I went back to enter an incredibly rude front of house staff said I had to wait 2 hours to (potentially) be able to view the last few rooms. I wouldn’t have minded, but the staff were so incredibly rude and far from empathetic, I left feeling deflated and sad.
Skrevet 17. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, for the safety and wellbeing of our staff, volunteers and visitors we are operating with timed tickets and at reduced capacity in the house which has small, domestic spaces. We take the care of visitors seriously and are concerned to read about your recent experience. Please contact us at info@charleston.org.uk with any further details you can give and we will investigate this internally. Many thanks.
Skrevet 1. desember 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

rednipnoj
London, UK29 bidrag
nov. 2021 • Par
It’s remarkable that the house has been preserved in a time capsule, with the original art, furniture, features and gardens seemingly unchanged over the years. As you explore the house, expert guides are on hand to answer questions and give additional context to the house and its talented inhabitants. A truly wonderful insight into The Bloomsbury Set and their era.
Skrevet 11. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

c c
Newhaven, UK58 bidrag
nov. 2021 • Par
Wonderful visit. Fabulous house as a gardens and the great room guides bring it all to life. The galleries bring an extra dimension to the whole experience
Skrevet 7. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Anthea
7 bidrag
okt. 2021 • Par
Sack the chef at the lovely building that is a cafe. Such a disappointment. Stodgy tasteless food minimal choice available. Focaccia everywhere. More joy in saying the word focaccia! Could do so much better considering the surroundings
Skrevet 21. oktober 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the food in our café. Since reopening this May, we have received overwhelmingly positive feedback about our new café partners Caccia and Tails. As well as Focaccia Genovese, they offer a range of small plates, salads, fresh pasta, daily specials and cakes to suit a variety of tastes and appetites.
Skrevet 30. november 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Helen M
1 bidrag
okt. 2021 • Par
Very interesting visit to this lovely old house and the Duncan Grant exhibition. Room guides were knowledgeable and helpful and all were wearing masks and managing Covid security well. Visitors required to wear masks in all indoor areas. Sadly this was not the case in the very busy cafe where none of the many staff and only a few of the queuing customers were wearing masks. Lots of outside tables but virtually everyone had crowded into the busy dining room. And this was on a good weather day.
Skrevet 14. oktober 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your kind feedback about Charleston's house and the Duncan Grant: 1920 exhibition. Our café partners Caccia and Tails take the care of visitors as seriously as we do, and please be assured that all of your comments will be looked into. We hope that you otherwise had an enjoyable visit to Charleston.
Skrevet 30. november 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

mrsrebeccahoward
Kent, UK2 bidrag
okt. 2021
I visited Charleston to see the Duncan Grant exhibition in the Gallery, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Our visit was spoilt by the off-hand service in the cafe, with its odd name of Caccia and Tails. It wasn't busy when we went in to have a coffee. We waited at the counter, only to be snapped at and told we couldn't order coffee unless we had a table number. We chose a nearby table and went back with the number, paid and sat and waited, and waited. There were several members of staff behind the counter but we waited 20 minutes before 3 cold cups of coffee were dumped in front of us. Not good enough,Charleston.
Skrevet 7. oktober 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, we are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience in our café. Since reopening this May, we have received overwhelmingly positive feedback about our new café partners Caccia and Tails. They take the care of visitors as seriously as we do, and please be assured that all of your comments will be looked into. We hope that you otherwise had an enjoyable visit to Charleston and are glad you enjoyed the Duncan Grant: 1920 exhibition.
Skrevet 30. november 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Viser resultatene på side 1-10 av 467
Er det noe som mangler eller er unøyaktig?
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen
Vanlige spørsmål om Charleston

Charleston er åpen:
  • Ons - Søn 10:00 - 17:00

Hoteller i nærheten av Charleston: Se alle hoteller i nærheten av Charleston på Tripadvisor

Restauranter i nærheten av Charleston: Se alle restauranter i nærheten av Charleston på Tripadvisor