Iona Abbey and Nunnery
Iona Abbey and Nunnery
4.5
Historiske stederReligiøse stederKirker og katedraler
10:00–16:00
Mandag
10:00 - 16:00
Tirsdag
10:00 - 16:00
Onsdag
10:00 - 16:00
Torsdag
10:00 - 16:00
Fredag
10:00 - 16:00
Lørdag
10:00 - 16:00
Om
Foreslått varighet
Mer enn 3 timer
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen
Turer og opplevelser
Finn forskjellige måter å oppleve dette stedet på.
Hva er Travellers' Choice?
Tripadvisor gir ut Travellers' Choice-priser til overnattingssteder, attraksjoner og restauranter som konsekvent får gode anmeldelser fra reisende og er rangert i de øverste 10 % av steder på Tripadvisor.
Inntekter påvirker opplevelsene som er omtalt på denne siden. Finn ut mer.

Vi sjekker anmeldelser.
Tripadvisors tilnærming til anmeldelser
Hver Tripadvisor-anmeldelse går gjennom et automatisert sporingssystem før den legges ut. Dette systemet samler inn informasjon som svarer på følgende spørsmål: Hvordan, hva, hvor og når. Hvis systemet oppdager noe som muligens strider imot retningslinjene våre for fellesskapet, blir anmeldelsen ikke publisert.
Når systemet oppdager et problem, kan en anmeldelse automatisk avvises, sendes til anmelderen for bekreftelse eller gjennomgås manuelt av teamet vårt av innholdsspesialister. Disse spesialistene jobber døgnet rundt for å opprettholde kvaliteten av anmeldelsene på nettstedet vårt.
Teamet vårt sjekker hver anmeldelse som er lagt ut på nettstedet og bestrides av fellesskapet vårt for ikke å møte retningslinjene våre for fellesskapet.
Finn ut mer om moderering av anmeldelser.
4.5
1 083 anmeldelser
Ypperlig
739
Svært bra
248
Gjennomsnittlig
71
Dårlig
15
Forferdelig
10

R G
Dublin, Irland1 017 bidrag
mai 2023 • Venner
Its peace and serenity is only surpassed by its setting, Samuel Johnson in 1773 summed it up thus. " That man is little to be envied .... whose piety would not grow warm amidst the ruins of Iona.
Skrevet 6. oktober 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

Angerika127
148 bidrag
okt. 2023 • Par
Non fosse per i turisti che la visitano numerosi.
Molto bella e ben conservata e viva Contrasti di colori meravigliosi maggiormente accentuati dal grigio pioggia del cielo immenso
Skrevet 5. oktober 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

Tom B
Chesterfield, UK584 bidrag
sep. 2023 • Par
Make sure you check the ferries before travelling to Fionnphort the chanel has very strong currents.
We only had a short time on Iona due to the ferry operations.
However it was adequate and the Abbey etc was fantastic. What an experience of this atmospheric place.
Thoroughly recommended.
Skrevet 5. oktober 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

KarenM1_10
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan1 084 bidrag
jul. 2023 • Par
When you depart from the ferry, the first thing you see on your walk to the Abbey are ruins, is the Nunnery. As you proceed down the road, you will arrive at the Abbey. We were lucky that when we arrived a guided tour was about to begin. The guide provided good information relative to the history of the Abbey and answered all the questions from the group. We also saw the quad and the museum that was worth a look as well. If you have a tour allow yourself about 1-1/2 hours to explore this area.
Skrevet 5. oktober 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

Christine A
Oxfordshire, UK61 bidrag
sep. 2023 • Par
We were lucky to visit this site on a lovely sunny day. We found the Nunnery interesting with detailed information boards. We recommend joining one of the free tours of the Abbey lasting about 45mns, as this puts this building into the local historical and Celtic Christian context and explains St Columba´s life and influence. We also learned about the architecture of the building and current worship there. A lot of details which we would have missed otherwise. Thanks to Callum, our guide,who obviously enjoys his work and responded to our additional questions with interest.
Do not miss the free entry museum at the back. It contains all the relevant history, some amazing Celtic crosses and tombstones, well worth spending time there. There are lovely walks to bays with turquoise water and white sand. Also, nice places to have coffee and food too. Plenty to do and enjoy if you take your time.
Skrevet 19. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

Rubi
England, UK1 bidrag
aug. 2023 • Venner
Had a few hours to spare after a trip to Staffa Island. Iona suffered a power cut and staff at the Abbey couldnt process contactless payments. The younger staff member was unclear as to how to proceed and an older blondish woman intervened. I was surprised at being denied entry. Putting someone so mean-spirited in charge of policing entry to an Abbey and running it as a petty business as opposed to a charitable concern surely goes against the spirit of the place on both counts. Most people would have travelled for several hours to visit Iona and deserve more consideration under circumstances - which could be considered an act of God (?). Regardless, very un-Scottish and ruined a perfectly pleasant day.
Skrevet 11. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your recent review of the site. We were disappointed to read that your visit did not go as planned. Our island sites do have occasional power cuts. Unfortunately we aren’t able to waive the admission fee for their duration and we revert to cash only transactions for these periods and can still accept online bookings. Many people carry some cash but we appreciate not everyone will have that as back up. We are sorry you weren’t able to visit Iona Abbey when you planned and hope you were able to enjoy your time on Iona. Many thanks for taking the time to review the Abbey.
Skrevet 12. oktober 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Bobonano
446 bidrag
aug. 2023 • Par
Si parte da Oban in traghetto verso l'isola di Mull, poi occorre percorrere una strada per lo più a una corsia per giungere a prendere il traghetto per l'isola di Iona. Sull'isola ci si muove a piedi, solo i residenti possono andarci in auto.
La Nunnery è parecchio rovinata, mentre l'Abbazia è completamente restaurata. Si respira la spiritualità del luogo anche in un giorno di pioggia come è capitato a noi.
La visita è a pagamento e vengono fornite delle audioguide: vale assolutamente pena andarci!
Skrevet 8. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

rdbaroni
Comosjøen, Italia505 bidrag
aug. 2023 • Par
Abbiamo visitato l'isola di Iona con il tour delle 3 isole, l'abbazia è il monumento principale da visitare. E' splendida, soprattutto per la posizione e il contesto e la tranquillità del sito. Tutto il complesso è molto bello, il chiostro in particolare ha davvero un grande fascino.
Skrevet 27. august 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

aug. 2023 • Venner
Such a very thin place. Take the time to walk the cemetery, visit the museum, and definitely attend the services at 9 am and 9 pm
Skrevet 18. august 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

Mo100
33 bidrag
jul. 2023 • Alene
Sadly my whole day was ruined. I only had a couple of hours to spend on the island due to the late arrival of my ferry into Mull.

I went for a short hike in the hills & almost ran out of time before going back to the port. I decided to just pop into the small church for a few minutes on the way back to the port & I knew I wouldn't have time to go into the abbey.

I walked from the hill past the abbey on my left & there was a big gate (see photo) which I thought was the right one to use for the small church. I knew the small church did not require a ticket.

Upon opening the gate, the female staff member with short brown hair came out of the shop scowling at me & proceeded to rant at me about how that was a ticketed site and that I had used the "wrong" gate and it was reserved for vehicles & that I should've known as there was a padlock on it! The padlock (which I didn't even notice) was obviously not locked! I had just been hiking & opened about 3 gates on the hills that all had different catches on them so I thought nothing of this one. She did not even ask if I had actually bought a ticket in advance & treated me like a trepasser!

I politely said I had not been there before and was only intending to quickly visit the small church (it was already after 5pm). Thinking she would then understand why I ws at that gate, I was wrong. She STILL ranted on about the padlock and then (stroppily) told me the gate for the small church was further down the path to my right & did not require a ticket. I couldn't believe how I was being spoken to & why she was so wound up over a gate.

I pointed out there was no warning sign on the gate & that I'd walked from the direction of the hills where it wasn't possible to see the correct gate. She got argumentative at me AGAIN and was still going on about the padlock & so at that point I asked for the manager.

Upon going into the shop, her colleague called the manager. I told the first employee that had she been more civil to me, I would not feel like I needed to complain. She got worse, was pointing in my face and so in order to obtain evidence of this, I tried to capture this on my phone and she HIT my arm & tried to wrestle my phone out of my hand. I pointed out to her colleague that she was a witness to that & she implied she didn't see anything & gave me a nasty look which made it obvious she was just going to side with her colleague even though she did not see the gate incident. It was all so upsetting when I was a visitor and I was the one treated appallingly all because I committed the "grave error" of going through a wrong gate!

The manager arrived & was very kind & recorded my complaint but did state that there was no cctv on site.

After leaving the site, I found my e-ticket for the abbey which I purchased a few days before. Not once did that assistant ask if I'd bought a ticket in advance and just treated me like an illegal trespasser. Due to all the upset, I didn't think to find the ticket on my phone at the time.

The manager has refunded my ticket but after 4 weeks, it is very disappointing that nobody from Historic Scotland has responded to my complaint even though they have a formal complaints procedure on the website. I still feel sick when I think about the horrible way I was treated that day.
Skrevet 16. august 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thanks for your review of your visit to the abbey. We were disappointed to read that your visit did not go as planned. Staff members advise that all visitors to the Abbey enter via the open pedestrian gate by the ticket office. The graveyard and St Oran’s Chapel have a separate entrance nearby. We have contacted our site team regarding your complaint. It was recorded at the time that you had submitted a verbal complaint to the abbey site manager, which did not require any follow up and that was confirmed by a family member. If you are unhappy with our response you can request a further investigation of your complaint. If you wish to do so, please contact us at complaints@hes.scot.
Skrevet 22. august 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Viser resultatene på side 1-10 av 1 083
Inntekter påvirker opplevelsene som er omtalt på denne siden. Finn ut mer.
Er dette Tripadvisor-oppføringen din?
Eier eller administrerer du dette stedet? Gjør krav på oppføringen din gratis for å svare på anmeldelser, oppdatere profilen din og mye mer.
Gjør krav på oppføringen din

Iona Abbey and Nunnery (Isle of Iona, Skottland) - Anmeldelser - Tripadvisor

Vanlige spørsmål om Iona Abbey and Nunnery

Hoteller i nærheten av Iona Abbey and Nunnery: Se alle hoteller i nærheten av Iona Abbey and Nunnery på Tripadvisor