WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre

WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre anmeldelser

WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre
4.5
Natur- og dyrelivområder
Finn ut mer
09:30–17:30
Mandag
09:30 - 17:30
Tirsdag
09:30 - 17:30
Onsdag
09:30 - 17:30
Torsdag
09:30 - 17:30
Fredag
09:30 - 17:30
Lørdag
09:30 - 17:30
Søndag
09:30 - 17:30
Skriv en anmeldelse
Om
Foreslått varighet
Mer enn 3 timer
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen
Hva er Travellers' Choice?
Tripadvisor gir ut Travellers' Choice-priser til overnattingssteder, attraksjoner og restauranter som konsekvent får gode anmeldelser fra reisende og er rangert i de øverste 10 % av steder på Tripadvisor.

De beste måtene å oppleve attraksjoner i nærheten på


4.5
1 446 anmeldelser
Ypperlig
970
Svært bra
357
Gjennomsnittlig
77
Dårlig
30
Forferdelig
14

Danny
8 bidrag
jun. 2022 • Familie
This place is amazing! Never did I expect to see flamingos and nēnēs on my trip to England. It has great educational enclosed areas in the middle which are completely accessible and family friendly, and then hides overlooking wetlands snd estuaries for proper twitchers. I saw many British birds I hadn’t yet spotted and it was a great opportunity to view numerous cranes.
Skrevet 1. juli 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Thomas B
Chorley, UK8 bidrag
jun. 2022 • Familie
Had an amazing visit here the canoes we’re awesome and there’s lots to do will definitely be back in the near future
Skrevet 30. juni 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Peter M
Birmingham, UK2 bidrag
jun. 2022
A great day out. I spent several hours wandering around and taking photographs of the many exotic bird species. I could have spent longer but it was very hot and I needed to take frequent rests in the shade. I was hoping to catch sight of a Kingfisher though, but did not see one. The staff are very knowledgeable and put on talks throughout the day. I would go again, but probably at a different time of year,

On a critical note though, when using the "Kingfisher Kitchen" restaurant, I was given a filthy-looking glass to drink from, and when I complained I was told to help myself to another one from those available, which were all in the same state that looked as if they had all been washed in the same dirty water. Evidently their dish-washer needs some attention.
Skrevet 23. juni 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your day with us, particularly for your photography. We hope to welcome you back again and hopefully you get to see a kingfisher next time! Many thanks for your feedback regarding our catering, we will raise this with the team. If you would like to come again to Slimbridge during a different season, winter is a fantastic time to visit for the winter wildlife spectacle and the opportunity to see large numbers of Bewick's swans. Kind regards,
Skrevet 27. juni 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Liz S
1 bidrag
jun. 2022 • Alene
I love it here. A big thank you to volunteer Elizabeth. She gave me a tour of Sir Peter Scott's House. She was a fountain of knowledge and made it a very special experience.
Skrevet 6. juni 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are really pleased to hear you particularly enjoyed the Scott House Tour - we will pass on your kind words to volunteer Elizabeth. We look forward to welcoming you back to Slimbridge soon. Kind regards
Skrevet 21. juni 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Carolyn B
1 bidrag
jun. 2022 • Par
This was the first time I had been here and was a bit disappointed. I was expecting more species of bird, which I understand is not Slimbridges fault. What is there fault is the state of the toilets. I used the one near the theatre. Someone had urinated all over the toilet seat and floor. As it was busy when I went I had to clean this as well as I could before using it. There were no staff around to ask for this to be cleaned and the facilities are quite far apart.. As other people have mentioned the cafe was expensive and a lack of variety. If I go back then I will need to consider these things. The flamingos were awesome and the avery next to the theatre had some great species of birds
Skrevet 4. juni 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.

Sean W
1 bidrag
mai 2022 • Alene
After recently holidaying in The Forest of Dean,I took the opportunity to visit Slimbridge,even though it was an hour's drive away,I'd always wanted to go after seeing it on Springwatch,etc.. Admission fee was fairly expensive,but knowing that my money would go to a good cause,I happily paid.(£16.50)The guide was pricey too,at £3.00,and I hardly used it,so probably wouldn't bother.The place itself was lovely,a bird lovers paradise,and most of the staff were pleasant too.I was quite surprised to establish that,as other people have commented,that Slimbridge seemed a little commercialised,as I thought it was a big wild nature reserve,but this by no means ruined the trip.If you're a big bird/wildlife lover like myself,expect to spend 4-5hrs here,at least!Overall I had a lovely day at Slimbridge,and I thoroughly recommend it.Sadly at the end of my day,through no fault of the center itself,I was driving slowly out on the speed restricted road,I was met with anger and upset.The exit road is long,straight,wide,and clear all around,and as I said has speed restrictions,but that didn't stop some a-hole running over and killing a pigeon,moments before.I sadly stopped my car,got a glove from my boot,and picked the poor bird up and placed him in the verge to prevent its body from further trauma.The poor bird was still warm,so this had just happened,whether it was a visitor or staff member leaving,I'm not sure,but how could this happen???The worst thing was,it's partner was sitting in the verge,about 2ft from its deceased partner, probably hoping by some miracle it's partner would come around.SLOW DOWN people it's a nature reserve!
Skrevet 17. mai 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you found it a bird lover's paradise. We hope to welcome you back during another time of year so you can experience even more of our wildlife and experiences. I'm sorry to hear about the incident when leaving Slimbridge, we do ask people to be mindful when driving out and through Slimbridge village. Kind regards,
Skrevet 2. juni 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Vlillik
Solihull, UK100 bidrag
mai 2022 • Par
A big thank you to all the folk at this beautiful bird sanctuary! We absolutely loved our day out! Had the flamingos been kept in due to bird flu I would have been really disappointed!

They’ve made different areas within the sanctuary with various bird hides and plenty of seating. Everyone was quiet and thoughtful, and friendly throughout the visit.

It’s looking quite mature in some areas and very pretty. We went mid-May when it’s all new greenery and lilies are in bloom.

A top calming day out and we’d revisit 🦩☀️🌳
Skrevet 15. mai 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an excellent review. We are so pleased to hear you had a calming day out with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable day out in nature! If you didn't try it on your recent visit we would highly recommend our Summer Walkway with breathtaking views of the Severn estuary. Kind regards,
Skrevet 16. mai 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Martin B
24 bidrag
mai 2022
My last visit was nearly 60 years ago, and still loved it. Even my wife loved the visit and she is not a twitcher. Well laid out and really great for families. The birds seemed most lively first thing and many seemed to take a rest in the afternoon - or it might have been me getting tired! Yes it is a bit zoo like in places but I'm ok with that as great for children and helping rare species. Still great to see so cranes and avocets in the wild. Enjoyed the short canoe ride but beware if you are tall as there is a very low bridge!

I agree the restaurant needs a lot of work and better trained staff. A little dissapointed with the kingfished hide. A longish walk to it then the hide was a long way from the nest and windows were closed which is not good for photos but I understand the importance of not disturbing them. Fortunately earlier this year we had a local kingfisher who was happy to pose for photo's.

Well done
Skrevet 10. mai 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an excellent review. We are so pleased to hear you returned to Slimbridge after such a long time and still loved it. And thank you for your feedback on our restaurant and the Kingfisher Hide. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards
Skrevet 16. mai 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

sjf_1982
Mansfield, UK24 bidrag
jun. 2021 • Familie
Great wetlands centre, lots to see and do. Great information boards telling you about the birds. Bird feed available to buy to feed the ducks/swans etc. Lots of different areas to walk through. Only eighth disappointment was the cafe, very limited menu, especially for children but the food we had was nice and fairly priced. Will definitely return!
Skrevet 8. mai 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are so pleased to hear you had a lovely day out with us. And thank you for your feedback on our cafe - I will feed this back to the senior management team. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy a full day with us. Kind regards,
Skrevet 9. mai 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

ClaireAdamMoss
Ilfracombe, UK4 417 bidrag
mai 2022
Ok so I am going to start by saying we are not bird enthusiasts in any shape or form and that even though we love nature I honestly wasn't expecting to take anything from this experience but I am surprised at how wrong I was!
We were staying at a campsite just down the road and the weather wasn't amazing so we put on our wellies and set out.
As soon as you arrive you are greeted by wonderfully friendly staff who go out of their way to fill you with as much information as you could possibly need and useful tidbits of timings and sights to see. We were informed that the otter talk was starting in a few minutes and that the kingfishers had been spotted in their nest area! KINGFISHERS!!!! So this is a personal thing for me as I love kingfishers, have stayed in Kingfisher lodges, spent hours where people have spotted them in various locations and never managed to see one with my own eyes. I couldn't contain my excitement heading down to the kingfisher hide and was a little disappointed when all the viewing windows were full. There was much camera clicking and loud whispers when they were spotted but alas I didn't see him. Nearly everyone left and we took our seats not expecting him to come back but he did & so did his mate! I am not ashamed to say I cried which made it harder to see them and was just like a dream come true. I could have stayed there all day but my husband ushered me on.
There is so much to see and do and the whole area is massive, you really can easily spend a whole day and I wish we had gone earlier to spend more time in some of the places we enjoyed the most. The North America area for us was the best as the birds in there were hilarious and there were so many personalities there!
Each hide you come across is unique and has varying views and vistas to behold and we made sure to go in each one on our journey around the park our favourite being the magnificent Estuary tower.
We stopped for lunch in the restaurant and were lucky enough to have break in the weather to sit outside and enjoy our food. I had a well cooked and very tasty jacket potato with beans and cheese and a well dressed salad and my husband had a very tasty (and enough for 2!) meat pizza which he enjoyed immensely! With our lattes, it was a very fine lunch and not too expensive for what we got.
I am so glad that we visited this fabulous place and helped support the fabulous work they do. It really is wonderful and you will learn so much about the wetlands all over the world and the importance of maintaining these areas. I will 100% be recommending this as a day out even to non bird enthusiasts like us because it really is an amazing place to see!
Skrevet 8. mai 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive and in depth review. We are so pleased to hear you had such a brilliant day out with us and that you managed to see the kingfishers! And that you especially enjoyed the Estuary Tower and the North America area. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again during another season, when you can experience even more of our site. Kind regards,
Skrevet 9. mai 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Viser resultatene på side 1-10 av 1 448
Er det noe som mangler eller er unøyaktig?
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen
Vanlige spørsmål om WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre

WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre er åpen:
  • Søn - Lør 09:30 - 17:30



Attraksjoner i nærheten av WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre: Se alle attraksjoner i nærheten av WWT Slimbridge Wetland Centre på Tripadvisor