Paignton Zoo Environmental Park

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park anmeldelser

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park
4.5
Natur- og dyrelivområder • Dyrehager
10:00–16:30
Mandag
10:00 - 16:30
Tirsdag
10:00 - 16:30
Onsdag
10:00 - 16:30
Torsdag
10:00 - 16:30
Fredag
10:00 - 16:30
Lørdag
10:00 - 16:30
Søndag
10:00 - 16:30
Om
Foreslått varighet
Mer enn 3 timer
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen

4.5
5 346 anmeldelser
Ypperlig
3 392
Svært bra
1 242
Gjennomsnittlig
406
Dårlig
172
Forferdelig
134

Finley
1 bidrag
jan. 2022
Fabulous zoo filled with well looked after, beautiful animals. Only (very minor) downside was a few empty areas or areas of construction / renovation but none obstruct the enjoyment of the zoo whatsoever. Definitely worth the money and will come again.
Skrevet 3. januar 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi fhxbry, thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent visit. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable day with us! Thank you for supporting us at this time and we hope to see you at Paignton Zoo again soon. Best wishes and take care, the PZ team.
Skrevet 5. januar 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Lauren Rowe
1 bidrag
jan. 2022 • Familie
Had a lovely visit, children was chuffed to bits! Seen all animals, except the orangutang which obviously just didn’t feel like it which is sad but understandable, they don’t always want to be seen!:)
Been visiting since I was a child. Lovely zoo. Glad to see they’re carrying out some essential maintenance to help maintain the zoo.
Look forward to coming again!
Skrevet 3. januar 2022
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Lauren, thank you for taking the time to leave your five-star review! It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a great day with us on your recent visit. Thank you again for leaving your feedback and supporting the zoo at this time. Best wishes and take care, the PZ team.
Skrevet 5. januar 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Foodie1066
Plymouth, UK34 bidrag
des. 2021 • Familie
Very disappointed with this visit. Both children, my Fiancée and myself left feeling very disappointed.
We come once a year and alot of the smaller enclosures are overgrown with no animals in. The bat and Sloth enclosure is closed and has been for a while apparently the staff member told us which left our children very disappointed and our youngest very upset as they love the sloths at Paignton Zoo.
I don't understand why they don't open up the old elephant enclosure (staff said that they aren't getting anymore elephants whish is soo sad) to the giraffes so they can have more room to move around.
Soo disappointed with Paignton Zoo as this Zoo used to be amazing but over the last couple of years it's been in decline and not worth the money anymore so we will miss this Zoo next year and go to a Zoo closer to home.
Skrevet 29. desember 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Foodie1066, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're very sorry that your recent visit did not meet your expectations, it's certainly not what we like to hear. Unfortunately, we have had to close some exhibits recently for essential maintenance, this is advertised on our website prior to arrival https://www.paigntonzoo.org.uk/plan-your-visit/updates, this webpage is continuously updated to best inform guests and we also regularly update our social media to inform of any changes. It has been a number of years since we have housed sloths and bats here at Paignton, the good news is you can see both at our sister site, Newquay Zoo in Cornwall. For an up-to-date list of the animals here at Paignton Zoo please check out the 'Animal A-Z' page on our website. Shortly after the loss of our African elephant Duchess, the keepers did open up the fence between the elephant and giraffe enclosures allowing the giraffes full access to the old elephant paddock, however the giraffes have chosen not to venture over and we will not force them to. There are plans in place for the old elephant enclosure so please keep an eye out for future updates. With regards to some smaller enclosures, we are taking the opportunity to evaluate ‘who lives where’ and this has meant that just some enclosures are empty whilst we move animals around and into improved new housing. Again, COVID and Brexit have had a substantial impact in terms of the pace at which animal moves between different zoos can take place, and there are a number of species that we are waiting to move to other collections, which need to take place before we can complete more permanent plans for the areas they currently occupy. I do hope you can appreciate that Paignton Zoo, like many others, have navigated a very challenging 2 years and continue to do so. We have a very clear plan for where the zoo is heading, and are working hard to make improvements in order to offer our visitors a fantastic experience. Thank you for your support at this time and we hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Skrevet 31. desember 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Jeffrey B
1 bidrag
sep. 2021
Anyone who has ever gone to Paignton Zoo will likely be left scarred by the similar experience that I have.
I've always been a fan of apes, I'm not an ape-hater, I would even describe myself as a self-proclaimed ape-lover.
But, I've had to reevulate my opinions after my experiences with the Paignton Zoo gorilla troop.
Even with the protection of a mask, I was unable to rid my nose from that awful, pungent smell of rotting fruit and stewing dung. I don't believe that wild gorillas live their lives in such squalor, there is something amiss with these apes. I think something has happened in the gorilla house that everyone is too afraid to talk about.
I didn't think it was possible for a zoo to allow their gorillas to live in such a way, their hedonistic life style is blatant in their careless fruit-flingings, dung-stained banana peels lay uncleaned in their enclosure. It's clear the keepers have little to no control over these monsters. I understand that they are gargantuan in size and potentially threatening, but they are under YOUR ownership, it's your responsibility to keep them in line.
Yes, it may seem as though I'm holding them to impossibily high standards, given that they are in fact animals, but I don't think its too much to ask that they at least don't behave like smug, self-serving tyrants.
Just clean the gorilla house, please.
Skrevet 22. desember 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Jeffery, thank you for your recent message regarding our ape house here at Paignton. We would like to reassure you that there are no problems with our bachelor group of western lowland gorillas and their indoor enclosure is cleaned thoroughly every day. We look after a group of young male gorillas and the odour you noted is entirely normal for a group of male gorillas of this age. Smell plays a very important role in gorilla communication and social relationships, and although it can smell a bit pungent to us as humans, it’s something that is very natural to the gorillas. They are also entirely vegetarian and this diet inevitably leads to a rather ‘vegetably’ aroma in their indoor quarters, particularly if they have been spending a lot of time indoors, as they have been lately during the wet and windy weather. It is not unusual to see food around their enclosure. They sometimes throw food items around their indoor quarters, but this is a normal behaviour for young male gorillas being boisterous together. Our dedicated staff also regularly scatter food around their enclosures – we avoid feeding them from a bowl in order to encourage natural foraging behaviour, both inside and out. Thanks again for your feedback. Best wishes, PZ Visitor Experience Team
Skrevet 5. januar 2022
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Anne B
2 bidrag
des. 2021
A bit run down but a good day for the children. Very hilly so not very good for people that have difficulty walking.
Skrevet 21. desember 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Anne, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It lovely to hear that your children enjoyed their visit. We do appreciate that, as our zoo is located in a valley, some paths and inclines can prove difficult to navigate for those with mobility issues, to best inform guests there is an accessibility page on our website - https://www.paigntonzoo.org.uk/plan-your-visit/accessibility/ this page offers details on how to book one of our mobility scooters or wheelchairs and includes a downloadable version of our Accessibility map. Thanks again for supporting the zoo at this time and we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes PZ Guest Experience team
Skrevet 21. desember 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Marquita. Church
Lostwithiel, UK47 bidrag
des. 2021 • Familie
The Zoo looks tired. Tigers were great as were the lovely peacocks. We did see the red panda, giraffes, rhino, baboons, orangutang. Tortoises, flamingoes, spider monkeys etc in the monkey house. Sad to not see an elephant or nocturnal creatures. Crocs were good as was the desert. Bugs too. But overall it looked so tired. Being shut down etc over the pandemic you would have thought they could have done a few repairs.
Skrevet 20. desember 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Marquita, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear that you saw a variety of our animals, the tigers are especially popular with our visitors! Unfortunately our African elephant, Duchess passed away in 2019, there are no current plans to house elephants again here at Paignton Zoo. We're sorry to hear you feel the zoo looks run down, we hope you can appreciate that due to the financial impact of lockdowns as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, some of our renovation work is taking longer than anticipated to complete. As a wildlife charity, we had to take advantage of the government's furlough scheme during these lockdowns to secure the future of Wild Planet Trust. BREXIT has also put increased demand on resources and contractors in recent months, as a result we have had to close some areas for maintenance, We're working hard to make sure all guests are aware of this, we consistently update our ‘Zoo Update’s web page on the website and post regularly on our social media pages. As we hope you can understand, we have navigated a very challenging 18 months or so, however we're making every effort to ensure all of our visitors enjoy a fantastic day out. We do appreciate your feedback, without feedback directly from our guests, Paignton Zoo and our charity Wild Planet Trust, would not be able to deliver our message of conservation through customer experience to our visitors. Thanks again, the PZ team.
Skrevet 21. desember 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Solentguy
Portsmouth, UK72 bidrag
des. 2021 • Alene
Very disappointed... loads of empty enclosures (yes I did check the indoor section of the enclosures - twice!).

Most of the birds were on display - didn't see a single owl though. Ducks aplenty-but I could have seen these for free at my local pond...

Saw less than a dozen animals - even doubled back to check enclosures multiple times ... just in case.

Waste of time and money.
Skrevet 8. desember 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Solentguy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. With regards to our animals not being on view, we give our animals the freedom to choose where they are throughout the day. As you know, it is advised that if a guest cannot see an animal on their first attempt, we recommend revisiting again later in the day when there is a good chance the animal may have moved. If an animal is still not visible when you have gone back to their enclosure it may just be that they are feeling particularly shy that day or the weather might be too hot or too cold for them. Animal welfare is of utmost importance to us therefore we do not force them to be on display. We do understand that this can be frustrating for guests at times. We do state on our website that viewing all the animals cannot always be guaranteed. As we hope you can appreciate, we have navigated a very challenging 18 months year, however we're making every effort to ensure all of our visitors enjoy a fantastic day out. We do appreciate your feedback, without feedback directly from our guests, Paignton Zoo and our charity Wild Planet Trust, would not be able to deliver our message of conservation through customer experience to our visitors. Thanks again, the PZ team.
Skrevet 11. desember 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Ash V
Merthyr Tydfil County, UK4 bidrag
des. 2021 • Familie
Que the 'our enclosures are designed to match the natural environment of the animals' response from the zoo. Absolutely gutting day out. Kids were extremely disappointed as was i. Loads of empty enclosures and no paignton zoo they weren't hiding they were genuinely empty, even your staff confirmed it i have film and pics to back it up . Viewing windows were filthy so even if the enclosures that had an animal in it, made it near impossible to see. Countless walkways and areas blocked off, some with no explanation why. The zoo is in dire need of tidying up, pathways overgrown, enclosures were shocking. If you have a telescope at the top of an enclosure to see an animal then you should probably rethink the layout of your enclosures or viewing points. They should have discounted the price considering the amount of areas being blocked off and the lack of animals within the zoo. Definitely wouldn't recommend anyone going there, save it for Noah's Ark, far better experience, cleaner, better enclosures, more animals, closer interactions with the animals... Just a way better zoo.
Skrevet 6. desember 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Ashley, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry to hear that you and your family were disappointed with your recent visit. As we hope you can appreciate, the zoo, like many others, has faced significant challenges over the course of the last 18 months, and this has resulted in a number of changes to the range of species we look after. With regards to our animals and enclosures, we are taking the opportunity to evaluate ‘who lives where’ and this has meant that some enclosures are empty whilst we move animals around and into new improved housing. Unfortunately COVID and Brexit have had a substantial impact in terms of the pace at which moves between different zoos can take place. We're sure you can also understand that some of our renovation work is taking longer than anticipated to complete, this is due to BREXIT and the increased demand on resources and contractors. As a result, we have had to close some pathways until the work can be completed. Our animals do have the freedom to choose where they are throughout the day. It is advised that if a guest cannot see an animal on their first attempt, we recommend revisiting that one later in the day when there is a good chance the animal may have moved. If an animal is still not visible when you have gone back to their enclosure it may just be that they are feeling particularly shy that day, or it may be too hot or cold for them, we would not force them out into public view. We work hard to inform guests prior to visiting of any closures, maintenance work or offshow animals, we have an updates page on our website which is continuously updated, we also post regularly on our social media pages and inform guests as they arrive. We really do appreciate your feedback, without feedback directly from our guests, Paignton Zoo and our charity Wild Planet Trust, would not be able to deliver our message of conservation through customer experience to our visitors. We hope this gives you more of an indication of our current situation and hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Best wishes, PZ Visitor Services team
Skrevet 11. desember 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

star8sky
Charlestown, UK145 bidrag
nov. 2021 • Venner
Spent the day here for the first time visiting in 10 years. Really good range of animals and as far as zoos go, the enclosures seem adequate.

Some of the areas were closed off but it’s to be expected at times, especially when quieter in the year.

Only concern were the tigers who were doing a lot of pacing which worried us they may be stressed. Unfortunately there weren’t any zoo staff around to ask whether that was normal behaviour.

Ate in the restaurant for lunch - good variety of food and decent value.
Skrevet 23. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello star8sky, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable visit. Thank you for expressing concern about our tigers, I would like to reassure you that pacing in captive cats is not an uncommon sight, sometimes this is stereotypical behaviour, however, it can often be a behaviour that is shown when anticipating food. Cats will often pace a perimeter of their environment before feeding time, or indeed patrolling their boundary. Please be assured that we regularly conduct animal welfare assessments of all the animals here at the zoo, with researchers, keepers and management. These assessments provide us with solid data that we use to make changes to routines, enclosures, enrichment and diet so that the behaviours of our animals are kept as natural as possible in a zoo environment. This is all overseen by a specific behavioural management committee. Thanks again for supporting the zoo at this time and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, The PZ team.
Skrevet 27. november 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

nessa
Penzance, UK3 bidrag
nov. 2021 • Familie
We have visited before and have come back with our younger children. I have read Previous reviews and yes I agree some of the places were closed off but it is understandable that it’s going to take a bit longer for this work to be carried out due to the current times. I would rather the animals were fed and Cared for rather than the place be done up just for visitors pleasure.
We spent four hours here yesterday and we had an amazing time my younger children and my teenager absolutely loved it especially when we walked through and the ring tailed lemurs were released and we’ got to see them up close and personal that was just amazing. We made so many memories just in those four hours.
We will definitely be coming back to visit .
Skrevet 12. november 2021
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og ikke fra TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and share some amazing photos. It's lovely to hear that you and your children had such an enjoyable day with us! Thank you for supporting the zoo at this time and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, the PZ team.
Skrevet 13. november 2021
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Viser resultatene på side 1-10 av 5 346
Er det noe som mangler eller er unøyaktig?
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen