Kelmscott Manor
Kelmscott Manor
4.5
TemamuseerHistoriske stederKunstmuseer
Torsdag
10:30 - 17:00
Fredag
10:30 - 17:00
Lørdag
10:30 - 17:00
Om
Varighet: 2-3 timer
Foreslå endringer for å forbedre det vi viser.
Forbedre denne oppføringen
Turer og opplevelser
Finn forskjellige måter å oppleve dette stedet på.
Hva er Travellers' Choice?
Tripadvisor gir ut Travellers' Choice-priser til overnattingssteder, attraksjoner og restauranter som konsekvent får gode anmeldelser fra reisende og er rangert i de øverste 10 % av steder på Tripadvisor.
Inntekter påvirker opplevelsene som er omtalt på denne siden. Finn ut mer.

De beste måtene å oppleve Kelmscott Manor og attraksjoner i nærheten på


Vi utfører kontroller på anmeldelser.
Tripadvisors tilnærming til anmeldelser
Hver Tripadvisor-anmeldelse går gjennom et automatisert sporingssystem før den legges ut. Dette systemet samler inn informasjon som svarer på følgende spørsmål: Hvordan, hva, hvor og når. Hvis systemet oppdager noe som muligens strider imot retningslinjene våre for fellesskapet, blir anmeldelsen ikke publisert.
Når systemet oppdager et problem, kan en anmeldelse automatisk avvises, sendes til anmelderen for bekreftelse eller gjennomgås manuelt av teamet vårt av innholdsspesialister. Disse spesialistene jobber døgnet rundt for å opprettholde kvaliteten av anmeldelsene på nettstedet vårt.
Teamet vårt sjekker hver anmeldelse som er lagt ut på nettstedet og bestrides av fellesskapet vårt for ikke å møte retningslinjene våre for fellesskapet.
Finn ut mer om moderering av anmeldelser.
4.5
4,5 av 5 bobler409 anmeldelser
Ypperlig
256
Svært bra
110
Gjennomsnittlig
30
Dårlig
7
Forferdelig
6

Steve Green
Cheltenham, UK95 bidrag
5,0 av 5 bobler
jul. 2024 • Familie
I have no idea why but this was our first ever visit to this Cotswold location. Joining Historic Houses highlited places we should have been to and this is a gem
for sure.

Parking was in a field just outside of the village and you can walk along the lane to the Manor or take the mini-shuttle bus.

Well presented and documented, excellent stewards that were happy to answer any questions. Good team room and lunch facilities.
Recommend.

The little church nearby is also worth a visit.
Skrevet 3. juli 2024
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

Amanda P
5 bidrag
5,0 av 5 bobler
jun. 2024 • Familie
We visited on a sunny June day with our adult son and his fiancée. It was our second visit on our re-usable tickets and was just as lovely as our first! The house and garden are both idyllic and inspiring, as you ponder all the creativity and intellectual process that took place within the space! The volunteers were wonderfully enthusiastic and knowledgeable but did not intervene unnecessarily either, so we could enjoy the tranquility of the house. The exhibition on May Morris’s travels was also very interesting and we enjoyed a quick game of croquet on the lawn. We had a very tasty lunch in the cafe and make several purchases in your lovely gift shop. We then completed our visit with a walk along your particularly idyllic stretch of the Thames and a look around Kelmscott Church and the Morris memorial. I should add there was initially a brief ticket misunderstanding as we entered the property but this was resolved most graciously - thank you. Kelmscott is a fantastic and relaxing place to be and a ‘holy grail’ for all Morris enthusiasts (as we are). This visit was our third but we will certainly be back! :)
Skrevet 30. juni 2024
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.

dguest2016
Eynsham, UK10 bidrag
5,0 av 5 bobler
mai 2024 • Alene
The high point of a visit to Kelmscott Manor, for me, was the contribution of the attendants. In every room, without being intrusive they were always willing to engage with visitors. The information they supplied was invariably instructive and occasionally amusing. I imagine they are all volunteers; it is impossible to speak too highly of them.
Skrevet 4. juni 2024
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Our attendants are volunteers and are very knowledgeable. I will pass on your comments to them as I know they will be delighted.
Skrevet 21. juni 2024
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Beverly S
Concord, CA107 bidrag
5,0 av 5 bobler
mai 2024 • Familie
I love William Morris fabrics, so this place has been on my bucket list for a while. It's definitely off the beaten track; literally in fact. We had to drive down a farm track to Kelmscott village and park at the church, then it's a 10 minute walk to the house. The walk is lovely, though, and we were lucky to have beautiful weather. The house and grounds are gorgeous. Docents are in every room, and they are very well informed and enthusiastic. There is a nice little cafe there, and I had a really good plowman's lunch. The gift shop is good too.
Skrevet 25. mai 2024
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. The walk from the car park to the manor is lovely but we also have a shuttle bus for anyone unable to make the distance.
Skrevet 21. juni 2024
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

gfsc5
Perth, Australia1 784 bidrag
4,0 av 5 bobler
apr. 2024 • Par
A great place to visit if you're a fan of William Morris of wallpaper, curtains, design fame. Lots and lots of examples throughout Kelmscott Manor where he lived with his family and, for a while, his wife's lover.

It's sort of timed entry but when we arrived for the opening - we had booked the time specifically - everyone who was around seemed to be given the ok to enter. They did try to restrict how many people went in at once but it clogged up in the first room.

There were volunteer guides in each room but they varied in quality. A couple seemed to be interested in only showing one person at a time, in detail, things of interest. There wasn't a lot of guide material if you wanted to explore things yourself, either.

A tad disappointing.

The grounds are fairly extensive and we had a good wander around them before the house opened. And the shop was very good. My wife spent a fortune.

An interesting place and an interesting story. It just could have been done a bit better in the house.
Skrevet 27. april 2024
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit but are not sure what happened when you entered the house. We allow 20 people to enter the house every 15 minutes so that the rooms do not get overcrowded but most people arrive at their allotted time and, if some wait five more minutes, then usually the first room is less busy. The stewards in each room are all volunteers who have training and notes to answer most questions from visitors. We try to get away from labels on all our collection as we want visitors to see the rooms as they were in William and May Morris's time. However, we are also investigating more ways for visitors to be able to engage with the collection and hope that this will be in place soon.
Skrevet 25. mai 2024
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Gastrogran
Somerset, UK15 bidrag
5,0 av 5 bobler
sep. 2023 • Venner
The first time we had visited since the refurbishment. What a wonderful experience. The walk from the car park is a must (it does take about 10 minutes but is all on the flat) as it sets the scene for this remote manor farm in its unspoilt landscape. The absence of cars parked all around is a great joy. The garden is charming, slightly unkempt but productive (medlars and quinces when we visited). The sense of the Morris family is everywhere, their taste and talents, their socialist views, their humour and love of animals (see the lovely story boards in the old stable ). Much more is made of the Morris women now - which has been long overdue. Excellent shop and tea room. A buggy back to the car park - all a wondefully inspiring few hours. Thank you.
Skrevet 1. oktober 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and what we have achieved with the refurbishment. Over the next few years we will be highlighting more of May & Jane Morris so we hope you will return again in the future.
Skrevet 17. oktober 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Daryl C
27 bidrag
4,0 av 5 bobler
sep. 2023 • Familie
I`m a huge Morris/Arts & Crafts/ Pre Raphs fan, so having been to his birthplace in Walthamstow, Kelmscott House in Hammersmith, and The Red House in Bexleyheath, this was a must.
I can see why Morris chose Kelmscott Manor, it`s in a lovely setting, a short walk from the car park, which somehow adds to the experience. I had pre booked on-line and the pdf was scanned on arrival at my allotted time. I was not disappointed by the house and garden and the exhibits, and the guides were friendly and keen to share their knowledge. I would n`t have known where the Morris grave is for example ( in the churchyard by the carpark).
I really enjoyed my visit.
Skrevet 19. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Skrevet 17. oktober 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

lambs1
Gainesville, GA195 bidrag
4,0 av 5 bobler
sep. 2023 • Par
Lovely spot, and was so interested to learn more about William Morris and his family and friends. My only complaint is it was so hard to see things in many of the rooms. They have to keep the light down to preserve the fabrics, but bring a flashlight.
Skrevet 15. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do have to keep the light in some rooms low in order to protect the collection but our stewards do have torches in those rooms to assist visitors. We will look at how we can inform visitors more easily of this.
Skrevet 17. oktober 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike Hughes
Mynydd Isa, UK206 bidrag
3,0 av 5 bobler
sep. 2023 • Par
Beautiful Manor house set in a quiet rural location. Grounds have some lovely plants, and the house is 'ok'. If you go to the tearoom then be prepared to que up as there was only one drinks machine being operated by 3 people! Overall, it was a nice place, but I do not think it was worth the entrance fee.
Skrevet 9. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.
Skrevet 17. oktober 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Alison L
3 bidrag
2,0 av 5 bobler
sep. 2023 • Familie
When we arrived, the lady explained it would be an hour before we could enter the house. Seemed a bit odd and like she was explaining we might be bored. She was right. Very underwhelming gardens and small tea facilities with such a large queue we couldn’t be bothered. We sat for 45 minutes just waiting for house entry. Although beautiful outside, the inside is sparse and the blinds were down so it was too dark to see anything anyway. Not at all the experience we were expecting. Very disappointed.
Skrevet 7. september 2023
Denne anmeldelsen er den subjektive meningen til et Tripadvisor-medlem og kommer ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor sjekker anmeldelser.
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. The Manor house has small rooms so we have to control the number of visitors in the house at any time. This is why you had to wait before seeing the house itself. The rooms have been laid out to reflect how they were when May Morris lived at the Manor using contemporary drawings, paintings and photographs where ever possible. We also have to control the light levels in the rooms to protect the collection, especially the unique fabrics. Our volunteer stewards in some rooms have torches to help see parts of the collection if you feel it is too dark.
Skrevet 17. oktober 2023
Dette svaret er den subjektive meningen fra en representant for foretaket og ikke fra Tripadvisor LLC.

Viser resultatene på side 1-10 av 409
Inntekter påvirker opplevelsene som er omtalt på denne siden. Finn ut mer.
Er dette Tripadvisor-oppføringen din?
Eier eller administrerer du dette stedet? Gjør krav på oppføringen din gratis for å svare på anmeldelser, oppdatere profilen din og mye mer.
Gjør krav på oppføringen din

Kelmscott Manor (England) - Anmeldelser - Tripadvisor

RestauranterFlyReisehistorierCruiseLeiebiler